Research

Local History and Genealogy
The Local History and Genealogy Department  is located on the second floor of Broome County Public Library. They have a variety of resources to help with your research.  Click here to find out what is available online and in their print collection.

Online Databases
An online database is a searchable collection of electronic records and data, which, in this case, can be used to find articles and other information from magazines, journals and newspapers. These databases are free to our patrons because we pay an annual fee to make them available.  The databases will include both full text articles (meaning the article in its entirety) and abstracts (meaning a short summary of the article with journal name and issue information). You may restrict your search to just full text if you wish.  You may need to enter your library barcode for authentication. 

*Additional online databases are available from Four County Library System (4CLS).  You will need to enter your library barcode. 

** Databases are made possible through NOVELny, the New York Online Virtual Library, a public information network for New Yorkers.  

DATABASE DESCRIPTION
AtoZdatabases Premier Reference and Marketing Database including 30 million business profiles & 220 million residents. Ideal for sales leads, mailing lists, market research, employment opportunities, finding friends and relatives, and much more!
*Testing & Education Reference Center An online interactive database of practice tests, including the TASC, civil service, military, and more. 
Ancestry Plus   The leading resource for pursuing family history research. Access is available to Census records and many other resources. CAN ONLY BE USED IN THE LIBRARY
* Flipster   A one-stop-shop for Digital Magazines that can be downloaded to your computer or tablet.
*Morningstar In-depth information about stocks, mutual funds, and investing. 
Tumble Books An online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach young children the joys of reading in a format they'll love!
*JobNow Live assistance for job seekers, plus an online resume lab, career resources, and test preparation for the GED and US Citizen Test. 
*Consumer Health Complete Consumer oriented health information designed to support the health needs of our patrons. Information covers all areas of health and wellness, including mainstream, holistic, and integrated treatments.
**Gannett Newsstand Complete Over 85 Gannett newspapers, including 6 from New York State (the Ithaca Journal, Poughkeepsie Journal, Rochester Democrat and Chronicle, Journal News (White Plains), Press and Sun-Bulletin (Binghamton), and Star-Gazette (Elmira).
Lit Finder Literary database. Search for poems, stories, essays, speeches and plays using keywords.
**New York Online Virtual Electronic Library  A wide variety of resources − books, magazines, newspapers, research and reference sources and more are available to New York State residents.  Resources cover many topics such as business, health and current events. 
*Teacher Reference Center An index to 260+ titles from the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals, periodicals and books.
*Literary Reference Center Full-text reference works, books, and literary journals on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
**eLibrary Elementary Over 140 magazines and books for elementary students as well as the American Heritage Dictionary.
*Art Museum Image Gallery More than 165,000 images from around the world and dating back to 3000 B.C.E. Includes images of sculptures, paintings, cartoons, textiles, posters, costumes and more. 
**Amazing Animals of the World Facts and photos for elementary school students of more than 1200 animals.
**American the Beautiful Articles on US cities, states, and presidents for elementary school students.
**Encyclopedia Americana Includes atlases, dictionaries, thesauri, and profiles.
**Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia Derived from the Academic American Encyclopedia for upper grade students through adults and includes encyclopedia articles, research starters, games, puzzles, an atlas, and dictionary.
**Land and Peoples Articles on countries, cultures, and current events, plus an atlas and almanacs for middle and high school students.
**New Book of Knowledge Encyclopedia for middle grade students that includes homework help, world history, timelines, games, & puzzles.
**New Book of Popular Science Articles about science, technology, and medicine with photos, maps, and technical illustrations for middle and high school students.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Children's Illustrated Encyclopedia
Colonial America Reference Library
Encyclopedia of Space
Encyclopedia of World Biography
Endangered Species
Experiment Central: Understanding Scientific Principles Through Projects
Gale Encyclopedia of Science
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Canadian Provinces>
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Mexican States
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of States
Junior Worldmark Encyclopedia of World Cities
State-By-State Atlas
Westward Expansion Reference Library